Board Members

Back row L to R: Cllr. Laurence Fallon, Cllr. Terry O’Flaherty, Dr. Michael Hannon, Cllr. Michael Crowe, Cllr. Marty McDermott, Mr. Tomás Ó Nídh, Mr. Seán Harnett, Cllr. Tom Welby, Cllr. Noel Larkin.

Front row L to R: Cllr. Peter Roche, Cllr. Aisling Dolan, Cllr. Kathleen Shanagher (Deputy Chairperson), Cllr. Michael Maher (Chairperson), Ms. Jean Beswick Duignan, Ms. Mary Mullarkey, Ms. Bernadette Costello, Mr. Daniel Cronin.

Missing from photo: Cllr. Shane Curley, Cllr. Colm Keaveney, Ms. Marie Lough, Ms. Nora Fahy.


Members nominated  by Galway City Council
Cllr. Noel Larkin
Cllr. Terry O’Flaherty                                                                   
Cllr. Michael Crowe
Members nominated  by Galway County Council
Cllr. Michael “Moegie” Maher   Chairperson 
Cllr.  Shane Curley
Cllr. Colm Keaveney
Cllr. Peter Roche
Cllr. Aisling Dolan
Cllr. Tom Welby
Members nominated  by Roscommon County Council
Cllr. Kathleen Shanagher    Deputy Chairperson
Cllr. Marty McDermott
Cllr. Laurence Fallon
ETB Staff Nominees 
Ms. Jean Beswick- Duignan
Mr. Daniel Cronin
Parents Nominees 
Ms.  Marie Lough
Mr. Sean Harnett
Nominated by Representative Bodies
Ms. Bernadette Costello
Ms. Nora Fahy
Mr. Tomás Ó Nidh
Ms. Mary Mullarkey
Mr. Michael Hannon

The Membership is comprised of 21 Members elected under the provisions of Section 30 of the Education and Training Boards Act, 2013, ie:

  • 12 Members nominated by Galway  County Council, Galway City Council & Roscommon County Council,  under Section 30 1 (a) following the Local Authority Elections;
  • 2 Members who are members of staff. Section 30 1 (b) Two Staff Nominees have been elected;
  • 2 Members of Parent Representatives. Section 30 1 (c) Two nominated by Parents Primary & ETB National Parents Association;
  • 5 Members appointed in accordance with Section 30 subsection (11) Nominating Bodies as specified by the Minister under this Section emanate from    specialist interests/areas including:
  • Bodies’ representative of Business, Industry and Employers (one)
  • Bodies’ representative of Learners (one)
  • Bodies’ representative of Persons engaged in the management of, or leadership in, recognised Schools (one)
  • Bodies’ which are not in the above three designated categories (two)